Day 13: Seek Truth, Share Truth

e44b3faa515b1a5d8f083580474a537c

Today I had to be honest, from my heart. I aim for this always—in every moment, with every word shared – and most days, I feel like I succeed. And, to balance out these wins, there are just as many losses.

Failures, I think of them.

Moments where I slide around the truth because I am afraid to hurt the people in my life. Moments where I feel feelings that make me uncomfortable, and therefore make it impossible for even my own heart to accept. And so how can I tell you the truth when I know how much it hurts me?

I fear hurting people I love in these moments of doubting the truth. I fear breaking a heart. I fear making a mistake. I fear failing in their eyes. I fear that I will never be forgiven, and that this particular truth, whatever it is, could bring our worlds crashing down. I fear that they will leave me, never to return.

Yes, this is the truth.

And so is this:

I fear that I will hurt myself in these moments of doubting the truth. I fear breaking my own heart. I fear making a mistake. I fear failing myself. I fear that I will never forgive myself, and that my world will end. I fear that I will let fear take over, never allowing love to return.

Today, I spoke my truth, and even though it was difficult, even though I felt fear rise up, and made my voice quake, I know that love was in every word. And that it’s true what they say, about truth: it will set you free.

One thought on “Day 13: Seek Truth, Share Truth

Leave a Reply

