Day 21: Be Here, Now

6c0ebfe497235d15ae51dbab07b3c18a

Aching body this morning.

Lower back on fire.

Each movement an effort.

I feel every moment of play on the rope wall yesterday.

I knew that I was pushing myself too far, but I didn’t want to stop.

I want to learn drop backs.

I want to back bend.

I want take my body further.

I want to take my practice further.

So inspired by handstands and the freedom I felt, I want to learn everything.

I want to fold into a pretzel and levitate off the floor.

Aha, says the pain.

Where do you think you are going?

You are here, now.

Do you think an advanced practice is all of these things? To put your leg behind your head and to stand upside down on one fingertip, and that’s it, you are advanced?

Do you think there is a medal for doing all of these things?

No.

You are here, now.

That is it.

Accept it.

Embrace it.

Love it.

Tomorrow, maybe you are somewhere else.

But today, my friend, you are here.

Leave a Reply

