Asteya

bd82797483c4375b944809a14c465ba3

50 Gratitude Salutes

1. I am grateful to wake up each day.
2. I am grateful for the sun, moon and stars.
3. I am grateful for the cat that is curled up on my desk, giving herself a bath before settling in for a nap.
4. I am grateful for yoga.
5. I am grateful for the birds chirping outside my window (sometimes, when I sit in meditation with my eyes closed, I imagine I am in the jungle).
6. I am grateful for my love: his laugh, his touch, his heart; his love of growing things, taking pictures and curling up with a good book.
7. I am grateful for bicycle helmets.
8. I am grateful for shape-shifting clouds.
9. I am grateful for Daiya (the best vegan ‘cheese’ out there…melts just like the real stuff!)
10. I am grateful for this body (although I don’t always honor it).
11. I am grateful for the white feather that rests on my altar.
12. I am grateful that I had thirty years with my mother.
13. I am grateful for underwear that have the days of the week on them.
14. I am grateful for the flight of butterflies.
15. I am grateful for my iPhone. (I know it’s just a thing, but it’s a pretty magical thing).
16. I am grateful for coconut water.
17. I am grateful for stories and books and words and reading.
18. I am grateful for the soft head of my dog and the warmth that radiates when he rests his head on my lap.
19. I am grateful for my friends (and even though I am terrible at returning phone calls, I do love them so, so much).
20. I am grateful for epsom salts.
21. And I am grateful for baths.
22. I am grateful that I have a friend I can say this to: “Tiny giraffes wearing tutus and singing and dancing in the coconut rain with rainbows for hats.”
23. And I am grateful when she responds with (and this is a real quote), “polka dotted lemurs with sexy lingerie and little miniature glasses of coconut rum whispering songs about pumpkins and chihuahuas playing in a desert with panda bears. obviously.” It’s pretty awesome when someone just gets you.
24. I am grateful for the movie Moonrise Kingdom. And Fantastic Mr. Fox. And The Darjeeling Limited.
25. Which makes me grateful for Wes Anderson. Obviously.
26. I am grateful for big bowls of homemade popcorn.
27. I am grateful that I can touch my toes.
28. I am grateful for giant singing crystal bowls.
29. I am grateful for shamans and mystics and plant medicine and magic.
30. I am grateful for all of the light and for all of the dark.
31. I feel grateful and joyous when my cat and dog snuggle. Even if they are just barely touching, it makes my heart sing.
32. I am grateful for the quiet of early mornings, when the house is still asleep.
33. I am grateful for laughter. And how, if you laugh hard enough, you can actually make your stomach hurt. In a good way.
34. I am grateful for whiskers on kittens, brown paper packages tied up with string and snowflakes that stay on my nose and eye lashes.
35. I am grateful for dreams where I can fly.
36. I am grateful for Sundays and the surprises they bring.
37. I am grateful for my teachers and their graceful guidance.
38. I am grateful for Skype and how it can put two hearts together as if you were in the very same room, in the very same place.
39. I am grateful for the yamas: ahimsa, satya, asteya, brahmacharya and aparigraha.
40. I am grateful for backbends and balancing postures.
41. I am grateful for my niece and afternoons of coloring and tea parties with dolls in the backyard.
42. I am grateful for tears, for rants and for tantrums.
43. I am grateful when the house cleaning AND laundry are done on the same day and everything is clean.
44. I am grateful for the moment between an inhale and an exhale.
45. I am grateful for late night Scrabble by candlelight, on the balconey.
46. I am grateful for silence.
47. I am grateful for the smell of fresh cut grass, clean laundry and lilacs.
48. I am grateful for the soft touch of a snowflake landing on my cheek.
49. I am grateful for walking hearts.
50. I am grateful for my father.

Leave a Reply

