Daughter of the Moon

Screen Shot 2014-08-06 at 8.06.54 AM

In each nook and crevice in my body, I can feel the power of the moon as she grows into fullness.

There is a part of me that feels buried in the earth, my heart especially wrapped up in a nest of feathers, held in her arms here while I sort through the shifting that rises up through the soles of my feet.

So I am grounded as she presents me with a new challenge and I gather myself up and move forward through the secret forest. It’s quieter than usual and I wonder if that is the case or if it is my hearing that has been tuned; with each step I take, I pause, my foot sensing the safety of the space before it hits the ground.

I both adore and fear this place.

The navigation through the thick of brush takes breath, trust and the hum of moonlight to guide the way. If it is too dark, or the forest is the city and the moon cannot be found in the heavy summer night sky, I place my hand on my chest and follow her lead.

I slip through the darkness, a creature of the night and a daughter of the moon and I know that soon a clearing will find her way to me and it is here that I will bow down and kiss the ground.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

